Recipes · Smoothies

Chocolate Peanut Butter Smoothie

Super pumped about starting my 5K training today. One of my professors recommended Hal Higdon’s training plans; so I decided to do the 8 week advanced 5K plan. I’ve never actually used a training plan before, but I like structure and decided that this would keep me in line to not go overboard and injure myself.

I was worried my training would be thrown off because I picked up some kind of weird 24-hour bug that hit me yesterday afternoon. I ended up with a sore throat, body aches, a headache, and a fever that sent me to bed at 7:30pm with every blanket I own piled on top of me to try to drive off the chills I was getting. Then I woke up this morning feeling about 90%. Go figure. Again weird. Just glad I was able to knock out my workout today.

photo-jan-02-3-44-58-pm

I digress, one of the best recovery drinks for runners is chocolate milk, because it has the right carb/protein ratio. So behold this chocolate peanut butter smoothie. I adapted my recipe from this recipe that I found online.

photo-jan-02-3-46-51-pm

Makes about 3 cups

Ingredients

  • 1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk, or your plant milk of choice
  • 1 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons natural creamy peanut butter, I use salt-free
  • 1 packet of Stevie
  • 2 small ripe bananas, use fresh not frozen
  • about 7 ice cubes

Directions

  1. Add all ingredients to a blender, I add them in the order listed, and blend on medium speed until the ice is broken up. You may need to stop and scrape the sides with a spatula if the peanut butter is stuck to the sides.
  2. Serve and enjoy!

Nutrition facts

mfp

Leave a comment